Demons News · Demon Student-Athletes Attend OHSAA Leadership Conference

Before the crack of dawn on Tuesday, October 6th, 21 Demon Student Athletes departed WHS at 5:30 am to travel to The Ohio State University and the Archie Griffin Ballroom in the Ohio Union to take part in the OHSAA Leadership Conference.  This conference is the largest of it’s kind in the nation and had over 1500 student-athletes, coaches and administrators in attendance.

The conference is put on and run by the OHSAA Foundation and includes groups of students from high schools that have a big hand in the operation of the conference.

The athletes heard talks from the following speakers:


Clay Hall-Sports Director for ABC6/Fox 28 in Columbus

Bobby Carpenter-Former All American at OSU, #1 Draft pick of the Dallas Cowboys and played for St. Louis Rams, Miami Dolphins, Detroit Lions and New England Patriots.  He attended Lancaster High School.

Chris Hahn-An Ohio native who has starred in the WWE (World Wrestling Entertainment) and stunt man in movies such as Captain America and Criminal Activities.

Larry Hoepfner-Executive Vice President of the Columbus Blue Jackets.  He oversees the business side of the Blue Jackets and Nationwide Arena.

Shawn Harper-Former NFL player who suffered from several learning disabilities (dyslexia and stuttering) but persevered.

Joel Penton-Former Ohio State football player and member of the National Championships team who received the Danny Wuerffel Trophy his senior year that is also known as the Humanitarian Heisman, a national award that recognizes one college football player in the country that best combines outstanding community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Eddie Slowikowski-Gold Medal Winner for the USA Track and Field Team, 3 time NCAA All American, sub 4 minute mile and humanitarian.

Mark Inkrott-CEO of the sports marketing firm, The Upfield Group and former NFL player.

Bill Hoskett-College basketball player at The Ohio State University and graduate of Belmont High School in Dayton.  Played in the NBA for the Knicks and a member of the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame.


The students who attended were:  Omar Abed, Craig Auer, Maya Bauer, Tariq Beach, Carter Bednar, Billy Blood, Steve Brewer, Gianni DellaVella, Kendrick Henry, Avi Kirpekar, Audrey Lyle, Macie Menichini, David Milasky, Paige Ramach, Laura Reilly, Patrick Smith, Sam Sovacool, Cam Stewart, Ellie Templeton, Ellen Wagner, and TJ Withers.